Hampton, Virginia ~ October 4-6, 2002

Mrs. John E. Williams   Mrs. John E. Williams
Mrs. John E. (Elizabeth) Williams was elected Honorary President of Virginia Division UDC.

Stonewall Jackson Award

On Historical Evening, Vice President Dolores Smith (center) presents the Division's first Stonewall Jackson Award to Mr. John W. Lougheed, Honorary Associate Member of Virginia Division CofC and husband of Division President Sam Lougheed (left).

Robert E. Lee Award

Virginia Division CofC President John Adams presented the Robert E. Lee Award to Brenda Latham (center) in recognition of her many services to Virginia's Children. Division President Sam Lougheed (right) received the award in 2000.

Winnie Davis bestowal

Division President Sam Lougheed bestows the Winnie Davis Medal on District Four Chairman Debbie Thomas.

Colonel Campbell

Colonel Barton Campbell, Director of the Museum of the Confederacy, presents Virginia Division President Sam Lougheed with a certificate acknowledging the Division's "dedication and extraordinary contributions to The Museum and White House of the Confederacy."

Military service award recipients

Sam Lougheed (left) and Division Recorder of Military Service Awards Betsy Anderson (right) with award recipients (L-R) Douglas W. Nash, Floyd A. Akers, Joseph J. Davis, Sidney D. Keith, and Stephen T. Hardin.

Hilda Bradberry, Kit and Lynn Willis

Hilda Bradberry (left) and Lynn Willis (right) are escorted to Historical Evening by Virginia Division CofC Treasurer Kit Willis.

  Real Daughters' luncheon

Convention Chairman Billie Earnest, Division President Sam Lougheed, and Bethel Chapter President Janet McCoig with Real Daughter Martha McNeil.

Memorial Service

Convention Chairman Billie Earnest, Division President Sam Lougheed, and Memorial Chairman Joan Logan Brooks at the Confederate monument in the St. John's Episcopal Church cemetery.

  Memorial service

Division President Sam Lougheed with the memorial wreath and her personal pages, Virginia Division CofC Third Vice President Crystal Brown and Richmond-Stonewall Jackson Chapter member Brianne King.

Virginia Dalton and Terry Hunter

Parliamentarian Virginia Dalton and Past Division President Terry Hunter at the Presidents Evening banquet.

  Sam Lougheed, Betty Jean Giragosian, and Kathie Watson

Sam Lougheed, Past Division President Betty Jean Giragosian, and Virginia Division CofC Director Kathie Watson at the Presidents Evening banquet.

Fredericksburg Chapter members

The Division President and members of her Chapter (Fredericksburg) on Presidents Evening. SITTING: Chapter President Cathy Akers, Lois Bailey, and Carlyle Brown. STANDING: Sam Lougheed, Division Corresponding Secretary Susie Masters, and Rebecca Mahnker.

  Presidents Evening banquet

Presidents Evening banquet attendees (sitting) Clive and Betty Rice (Chairman of Pages) and (standing) Past Virginia Division President Susie Whitacre and Doreen Carlton.

Joan Logan Brooks and Virginia Windley

Past Division President Joan Logan Brooks and Second District Chairman Ginny Windley on Presidents Evening.

  Suzy and Gary Snyder

Roanoke Chapter President Suzie Snyder and her husband Gary.

Ex-Presdients General presentation

Virginia Daughters reminisce about Division members who have served as President General of the UDC: Mary Williams (Miss Alice Whitley Jones), Betty Jean Giragosian (Mrs. W.C.N. Merchant), Juanita Allen (Mrs. Francis C. Palmer), Elizabeth Snedden (Mrs. Charles E. Bolling), and Bea Bland (in period attire as Mrs. Fitzhugh Lee).

RETURN to main page